May 7, 2009


This Week
Crime Report


This Week's Issue
Previous Issues

Call 215-248-8800


The Chestnut Hill Local
8434 Germantown Ave.
Phila. PA 19118
Ph: 215-248-8800
Fx: 215-248-8814
2009© Chestnut Hill Local
Terms of Agreement



Springside School alumna Katie Bolton ‘04 was back at her alma mater this month discussing bioethics with Biology students.  After graduating from the University of Pennsylvania last year with a B.A. in Health and Societies; Concentration in Health Policy (Minor in Intellectual History), she currently serves as Development Coordinator for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.  Prior to her visit, during their DNA technologies unit, students learned about genetic screening, used PCR and gel electrophoresis to screen an area of their own DNA on chromosome 1, and analyzed several genetic screening case studies.  They then met with Bolton to hear about the realities and legal issues involved in genetic screening and other bioethical issues.

Penn Charter’s honor society, the Cum Laude Society, inducted 18 students, all seniors, on May 1. This is the 100th anniversary of Penn Charter’s membership as a chapter of the national Cum Laude Society.
David Leebron, president of Rice University and a 1973 graduate of Penn Charter served as the keynote speaker. Leebron was awarded Penn Charter’s Alumni Award of Merit later that day.

Left to right: Cum Laude inductees Alexis Burdick-Will, of Mt. Airy, Matt Galvan, of Ambler, Jane Hawkins, of St. David’s, Kate Krieger, of Chestnut Hill, Drew Trager, of Voorhees, N.J., Rupi Sureshkumar, of Roxborough, Ross Slutsky, of Rydal, Brittany Wohler, of Mt. Airy, Steve Harrington, of Chestnut Hill, Laura Kurash, of Voorhees, N.J., Sam Lerner, of Cherry Hill, N.J., Linda Lipski, of Northeast Philadelphia, Molly Allanoff, of Lafayette Hill, Matt Byrne, of Media, Samantha Jarmul, of North Wales, Kyrie Georgiou, of Chestnut Hill, Kirby Dixon, of Mt. Airy, Marisa Weisbaum, of Lafayette Hill and keynote speaker David Leebron.

3Each spring Springside School recognizes students in the junior and senior classes for academic achievement by inducting them into the esteemed Cum Laude Society. At the recent assembly, noted American poet, journalist, and Springside alumna Eliza Griswold, Class of 1991, was the featured speaker.  Griswold writes about issues in the areas of human rights, conflict, and religion, and has been widely published in national journals such as Harper’s Magazine, The Atlantic, The New York Times Magazine, The New Yorker, and The New Republic.  In 2004, she won the first Robert I. Friedman Prize in Investigative Journalism for In the Hiding Zone, a work about Pakistan’s Waziristan Agency.  Since that time, she has been awarded one of the most prestigious fellowships for journalists by the Nieman Foundation for Fellowships at Harvard University, as well as receiving one of two Rome Fellowships in Literature for 2009 given by the American Academy of Arts and Letters.  Seated cum laude inductees pictured from left are Elizabeth Yaffe, Kingsley Delacato, Natalie Klotz, Rebecca James, and Carrie Andrews.  Standing from left are Nicole Carbone, Katherine Roberts, Natalie Bartlett, Sarah Dafilou, Erica Swan, Caroline Phillips, Zoe Greenberg, Julia Stepanuk, Madeleine Beitz, and Lauren Voye.